Sun, 31 May 2020

Bangladesh elect to bowl in series decider

14 Dec 2018, 16:42 GMT+10

3:00 AM ET

Bangladesh chose to bowl v West Indies

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza decided to bowl first against West Indies in the series decider in Sylhet. Despite the talk of Bangladesh's vulnerability against pace, the visitors did not include fast bowler Oshane Thomas in their line-up, replacing him with left-arm spinner Fabian Allen.

The home side made two changes, replacing Imrul Kayes and Rubel Hossain with Mohammad Mithun and Mohammad Saifuddin. Mashrafe will be leading Bangladesh for the 70th time in ODIs, surpassing Habibul Bashar's record of 69 ODIs as captain.

Mashrafe is also leading Bangladesh for the 70th time in ODIs, beating Habibul Bashar's 69 ODIs as captain. This is also the first ODI to be played at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, which hosted a Test earlier this year. The ground has also hosted seven T20Is.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Liton Das, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mohammad Mithun, 7 Mahmudullah, 8 Mohammad Saifuddin, 9 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 10 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 11 Mustafizur Rahman

West Indies: 1 Chandrapaul Hemraj, 2 Shai Hope (wk), 3 Darren Bravo, 4 Marlon Samuels, 5 Shimron Hetmyer, 6 Rovman Powell (capt), 7 Roston Chase, 8 Fabian Allen, 9 Keemo Paul, 10 Devendra Bishoo, 11 Kemar Roach

More Jamaica News

Access More

Sign up for Jamaica News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!